Spanish Grand Prix – FP1 Report

Friday sunshine created ample opportunities for the teams to test their upgrades and work on the tyres to optimise car balance.

Fernando Alonso set the Spanish crowd alight as he lapped fastest time in his revised Ferrari F2012. The championship leader was just four tenths behind the Spaniard.

Just a second and a half separated the top fifteen drivers during the session.

Vettel set the fastest time in his Red Bull after halting for half an hour in pits, then it was broken by Alonso’s Ferrari.

Behind the pair, Kobayashi who spent more time on track, and Button, weren’t far from them either, only just a tenth away from Seb.

Valtteri Bottas was the clear pick of the reserve drivers as he took Bruno Senna’s Williams right to fifth – continuing his impressive run of form on friday. Michael Schumacher ended the session at sixth ahead of Grosjean’s Lotus.

Seven different drivers covered top seven. Mclaren tried out the new high nose – running along with the old one – to conclude on which is best.

Hamilton went eighth fastest on the high nose run ahead of Kimi Raikkonen. Kimi totally did 28 laps in his long-haul of run ahead of Hulkenberg’s Force India.

Felipe Massa, Mark Webber and Nico Rosberg stood at the end of the session in twelve,thirteen and Fourteen respectively.

The Debutants :

Dani Clos made his first appearance in practice only to end up the session slowest after his car came to a stop in the pits due to a mechanical problem.

The American, Alexander Rossi made his debut at 21st for Caterham after putting on 25 laps.


1.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari                 1m24.430
 2.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault       1m24.808s  + 0.378
 3.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari         1m24.912s  + 0.482
 4.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes       1m24.996s  + 0.566
 5.  Valtteri Bottas       Williams-Renault       1m25.120s  + 0.690
 6.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes               1m25.187s  + 0.757
 7.  Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault          1m25.217s  + 0.787
 8.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes       1m25.252s  + 0.822
 9.  Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault          1m25.285s  + 0.855
10.  Nico Hulkenberg       Force India-Mercedes   1m25.339s  + 0.909
11.  Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1m25.367s  + 0.937
12.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari                1m25.433s  + 1.003
13.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault       1m25.539s  + 1.109
14.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes               1m25.607s  + 1.177
15.  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari         1m25.918s  + 1.488
16.  Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1m26.226s  + 1.796
17.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault       1m26.297s  + 1.867
18.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes   1m26.630s  + 2.200
19.  Vitaly Petrov         Caterham-Renault       1m27.475s  + 3.045
20.  Timo Glock            Marussia-Cosworth      1m28.267s  + 3.837
21.  Alexander Rossi       Caterham-Renault       1m28.448s  + 4.018
22.  Charles Pic           Marussia-Cosworth      1m28.633s  + 4.203
23.  Pedro de la Rosa      HRT-Cosworth           1m29.107s  + 4.677
24.  Dani Clos             HRT-Cosworth           1m31.618s  + 7.188

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s