All Spaniards for the Spanish team

Spanish Grand Prix is about to witness history in the making come friday as the Spanish team makes the way for another Spaniard in their home Grand Prix. Dani Clos, the official reserve for the Spanish outfit will have his handful on the first of the practice sessions partnering his veteran team-mate Pedro de La Rosa..

The Barcelonian being a former Renault Italia 2.0 champion and a strong contender in the 2010 GP2 series had his maiden victory in Turkey before securing fourth overall in the aforementioned year. Prior to competing all three season with Racing Engineering, Clos had entered in to Williams’ Young Drivers Programme when he was a teenager.

HRT say they are the breeding platform for Spanish talents into F1. Having relocated their base to Madrid, Clos’s appointment replacing Narain Karthikeyan was an apparent decision. He will drive to expose as many information as possible for getting his team upfront in the back marker’s battle. HRT are optimistic over the weekend and look set to conduct different tests with their new upgrades.

Having marked his presence in the Young Drivers’ Programme for HRT last november, he was given test driver role before the season has started.

Formula One has never been the land of opportunities but in order to satisfy the sponsors and the home crowd teams are putting in their home assets which one way or the other will boost up the aspiring F1 sidekicks.

Dani Clos has been quoted as saying :  “I’m delighted to have this opportunity. It’s something I’ve fought for all my life; to make my debut in Formula 1 and, above all, to be able to do it at the Circuit de Catalunya which is something very special for me. Besides, I’m extremely lucky to be able to do it with a Spanish team, alongside another Spanish driver who I admire and at home.

I can’t ask for more! It’s the ideal situation and I’m proud to be where I am with the people who have always been with me and still are. I hope to extract a lot of data from this practice session, contribute with positive things to the team and do my job in the best way I can. I feel 100% ready and I can’t wait for the moment I step into the car and hit the track”.

Leave a Reply

