Australian GP – The Perfect Start

Being a F1 fan, waiting for every race weekend with anticipation is some feeling that doesn’t have an alternative. 2008 and 2010, two glorious seasons of recent past with evenly matched racing is something to fantasise on every season. Finnish sensation Raikkonen’s decision to opt F1 for rallying is yet another reason.

Over the last 30 races, Vettel managed to beat the odds 22 times – but Jenson won twice in last three Australian races. Out of 16 times, 8 races here are won from pole, of which, last 8 races account for 6 victories.

Coming from one of the shortest off seasons in history, resurgent F1 teams had their work cut out this year. Opting for step-noses is forced by new regulations but Mclaren being low-nosed since the beginning have that distinct advantage of not having one.

Hamilton tamed his emotions positively to a well-judged pole. Just like all of our beliefs, Australian GP is exciting right out of the box. When red light flashed on, the season is off.

Button jumped on Lewis in to turn1 having had immense wheel spin at the start for Lewis. Well made start for  Mercedes’ both cars rowing up behind Mclarens. Webber’s off-the-line fiasco continues as he deprived down the order to P9 after picking up collision with Hulkenberg into turn1.

Grosjean slipped down to P6 – caught by the wheels of Maldonado in lap2. Desperate for a move they collided at turn 2 ending Romain’s race. DRS actived when Button was leading  by 2.5 seconds. At lap 11 Vettel pounced on Schuey, he gone off all over the grass attempting to close Michael. In the next lap Schuey retired of a gearbox problem when he has gone off the track at the same spot.

Alonso and Massa gained positions at the start which helped them move up to P6 and P8 respectively. Ferrari’s race pace has been surprising for many as Alonso visited Rosberg’s mirror often. Massa reported to have tyre issues and he pitted few laps later soon after Maldonado passed him. Button and Hamilton left the rest of field in wake. Alonso to pit first of the front runners.

Hamilton led the race when Button pitted. Vettel took the same gamble, pitting right after Button. In the meantime, Maldonado up in to 4th followed by kimi and Perez. Hamilton looked to put pressure on Button before his own pit stop as he had only 3 seconds gap . But his disastrous pit stop caused him about 10 seconds gap to Button as he raced with older tyres of Perez until lap 21 for 3 laps.

Perez’s Sauber never yielded then as he got passed by Webber, Alonso and Rosberg respectively. Petrov’s crash in start-finish straight brought out safety car. Button managed to get out of harms way while leading the race. Hamilton drove to pit when SC deployed.

This lucky break allowed Vettel to take P2. Having had tyre wear issues Lewis couldn’t get in to one second DRS window to fight for P2. More dramas in last lap as feisty Maldonado bumped on the kink of turn7 while catching Alonso eventually ending his race. Rosberg slipped down the order to P12 in the last lap. Taking advantage of it DiResta finished in P10. Ricciardo secured his first double points finish in his first home race.

Unlike exclusion from points last year due to technical infringement – both Sauber drivers bagged points in the race. Perez pulled it off from P22 to P8. Kimi’s overtake on Massa showed he is back on track as he finished P7. Massa made contact with Senna ending up his race .

Retirements: Kovalainen, Petrov, Schumacher, Grosjean and Hulkenberg.

Button got The Perfect Start he was looking for in winning ways.  Is this the season we all been dreaming about? I hope it is …


Pos No Driver Team Laps Time/Retired Grid Pts
1 3 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 58 1:34:09.565 2 25
2 1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault 58 +2.1 secs 6 18
3 4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 58 +4.0 secs 1 15
4 2 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault 58 +4.5 secs 5 12
5 5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 58 +21.5 secs 12 10
6 14 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 58 +36.7 secs 13 8
7 9 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault 58 +38.0 secs 17 6
8 15 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 58 +39.4 secs 22 4
9 16 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari 58 +39.5 secs 10 2
10 11 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 58 +39.7 secs 15 1
11 17 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari 58 +39.8 secs 11
12 8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 58 +57.6 secs 7
13 18 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 57 Accident 8
14 24 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 57 +1 Lap 20
15 25 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 53 Oil pressure 21
16 19 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 52 Accident damage 14
Ret 6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 46 Accident damage 16
Ret 20 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 38 Suspension 18
Ret 21 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 34 Steering 19
Ret 7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 10 Gearbox 4
Ret 10 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1 Accident 3
Ret 12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 0 Accident damage 9
DNQ 22 Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth
DNQ 23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s