Indian GP Qualifying Report

Red Bull
Sebastian Vettel, 1m 24.178s, P1
Mark Webber, 1m 24.508s, P3, will start P2

The RB7 was brilliant throughout the day, as the track evolves so does the red bulls. Seb was fastest in FP3 and he has done enough by holding Hamilton. He was just fractions away from him but his last run separated them 3 tenths. Webber couldn’t match the pace of Seb but managed to get p3. Massa’s shunt forced him to abort his last run, thanks to penalties he was up to p2.

Lewis Hamilton, 1m 24.474s, P2, will start P5
Jenson Button, 1m 24.950s, P5, will start P4

Three place grid penalty for Lewis on friday for ignoring the double-yellowed flags. Webber’s Q3 time was unlikely to improve as a result Lewis’s last run ended with no time. His car has serious pace in it which will make today’s race exciting. JB was doing good until quali. he was almost out of the pack even in Q1 but managed to set the time at the very last moment. He said his car felt great in FP3 but lost rear grip during qualifying left him P4.

Fernando Alonso, 1m 24.519s, P4, will start P3
Felipe Massa, 1m 25.122s, P6

Fernando was surprised by his pace this weekend, he did just 5 laps in FP1 due to mechanical failure. He learned the track well then by and at the end 4 tenths behind the pole sitter in P3. Massa topped the board in FP2 with his wing flexing during the session which was perfected by Red Bulls last year. He clobbered the kerbs in turn 8 and ended up in walls during his last run in Q3 which led to caution flags and also affected Button and Webber’s final run.

Nico Rosberg, 1m 25.451s, P7
Michael Schumacher, 1m 26.337s, P12, will start P11

Nico vows to finish this weekend ahead of atleast one of the 6 front runners. He was the best of the rest though in P7 and he was convinced that his team took a step ahead in race pace. Veteran Schumacher looked good in practice sessions but vibrations in his car left him start behind top 10.

Force India
Adrian Sutil, No time, P8
Paul di Resta, 1m 26.503s, P13, will start P12

It has been a second home coming race for Force India and they are looking to score points consistently to catch Renault in constructors. Resta was disappointed by his last run because he was all set to enter in to Q3 but his team mate had no problem with that he’d start behind Rosberg in P8.

Toro Rosso

Sebastien Buemi, No time, P9
Jaime Alguersuari, No time, P10

Toro Rosso’s found pace in the last few races. Jaime reported that he couldn’t feel his car at all in practice runs. Despite that they sorted out their problems and made in to Q3. Buemi was impressive and his birthday weekend should bag him some points.  They are just a few points behind Sauber and we could expect some strategical move in the race to score points from STR.

Vitaly Petrov, 1m 26.319s, P11, will start P16
Bruno Senna, 1m 26.651s, P15, will start P14

Petrov matched his time with Alguersuari for P10 but the Spaniard made the run before Petrov did so Petrov was unlucky in P11. His collision with Schumi caused him 5 place grid penalty for Indian GP, P16 was even unluckier. Senna was 3 tenths behind his team mate in P14.
Pastor Maldonado, 1m 26.537s, P14, will start P13
Rubens Barrichello, 1m 27.247s, P16, will start P15

Williams team expected some improvement this weekend but they were never close to their rivals. Despite engine problem in FP1, Maldonado out paced his most experienced team mate Barrichello for P13 positions. His team mate lost a bit of power in Q2 as a result P15 for Rubens.

Sergio Perez 1m 27.562s, P17, will start P20
Kamui Kobayashi, 1m 27.876s, P18, will start P17

Perez incurred a three place grid penalty like Lewis in practice so he’d start from P20 on the grid. Kobayashi had a disappointing qualifying session he didn’t manage to put his car in to Q2. Kamui struggled to find balance in his car.

Heikki Kovalainen, 1m 28.565s, P19, will start P18
Jarno Trulli, 1m 28.752s, P20, will start P19

The two lotus cars would start the race ahead of Perez. Kovaleinen was faster than his team mate, Trulli , regularly this season. They were the best of the final three teams so far this season. Trulli was reasonably happy, but said he lost out to traffic.

Jerome d’Ambrosio, 1m 30.866s, P23, will start P21
Timo Glock, 1m 34.046s, P24

Glock lost fifth gear after his first run and failed to beat the 107% bogey time, but has been allowed to start based on practice form. D’Ambrosio struggled with his car’s balance and he had a big moment in practice one when he lost his car’s control and hit the barriers.

Daniel Ricciardo, 1m 30.216s, P21, will start P22
Narain Karthikeyan, 1m 30.238s, P22, will start P23

HRT looked good after out-qualifying the Virgins, and yet again Karthikeyan did a fine job to run within hundredths of a second of Ricciardo. But they each drop back five grid positions, the Australian because of a gearbox change earlier on, the Indian because he was adjudged to have impeded Schumacher in Q1.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s